Higuarashi no Naku Koro ni

So, it’s Halloween and you’re looking for something scary to watch? Well look no further than “Higurashi no Naku Koro ni”!


Note: The following anime contains content unsuitable for younger viewers and is intended for viewers of age 16 plus.

A psychological, horror, mystery, thriller… what more could you possibly want?

Translated, the title means “The Moment the Cicadas Cry” but let me tell you it’s not just them who will be crying during this anime.

Having not watched this anime in something like 5 years, it could have been merely the fact that I was young that made this anime so scary, however, I hope this is not the case. Having only seen the first series, and refusing to watch any of the others, I cannot speak for the development of the series afterwards, but this first instalment was enough to scare me off seeing any of the others.

The series is divided into various arcs, which all start with the same premise: A teenage boy moves to the countryside and tries to make friends with a group of girls, only to have things go horribly, horribly wrong…

As you watch the series you become more and more connected with the characters and despite everything that your eyes see, you find yourself liking them. However, this fact does not stop the horror from being any less real.

Most of the fun in this anime is not knowing what will happen next, so I won’t divulge any information that will ruin it for you. Instead, I will simply say that this anime puts great effort into maintaining a perfect pace and oozing a palpable sense of suspense that will leave you simply unable to forget it.

As I said before, I was so scared after watching this series that I vowed never to watch it again or any of the series that came after it. Even if I was young, or the fact that I am a bit of a wimp, this series has etched itself in my brain so much that I still can’t forget it.

Locked in an endless cycle of blood, torture and death, what will become of these characters and can you unravel the enigma surrounding this town that cannot seem to escape it.

Happy Halloween!


Words: Christian James Dacombe
All images belong too their rightful owners and used under fair use.

Leave a Reply

