Eurogamer 2012 – Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance


The Metal Gear games are some of my favourite games out of the mass amount I’ve played. With the announcement of Metal Gear Rising [MGR] a few years back the world took a moment to think ‘would this work?’ now, after a few years and a develop change MGR is nearly here. The important question stands however, is it any good?

Entering the show I found myself rushing off to play this alongside Devil May Cry as quick as I could. The line for MGR later in the day was just shocking so I’m glad I only had to go for about ten minutes. People wanted to play this new title and make sure it was as good as it looked. The other important factor here was that they had a challenge. Beat the demo in less than 20 minutes without dying and win a 3D poster. Deal.

Accepting this challenge I sat down to play. Please note that, in the moment of trying to win a free poster and for not wanting to ruin the game I skipped all cut scenes. So I can only talk about gameplay but let’s face it, that’s what matters.

MGR puts you in the shoes of Raiden, the cyborg ninja from the last few games as the story takes place a few years after the end of Metal Gear Solid 4. Raiden has now had a lot of work done to his cyborg body now as well giving him a range of new skills and abilities. Most noticeably the new ‘blade mode’ which is where the player enters a slow mo state of gameplay and allows for fast and accurate cut with raidens blade. The more intense the battle the slower time gets allowing you to make even more cuts. this is important during combat as enemies have weak point which when hit, allow you to steal their power cores and refill raiden’s health. this is one of the few ways to keep up your strength.


Given the game is being developed by Platinum Games you can bet that it has a much faster pace than that of other Metal Gear games. We have been told however that the whole game can be played just like a normal Metal Gear game I see no point. You have super fast speed, can run up walls and can cut any object, any way. What more could you ask for? Of course the crazy foes and much more return in MGR as Raiden must take on a whole new type of war with a few returning faces.

I wish I could talk more about this game, it’s just so much fun. However with the challenge in my mind I beat the playable demo in under nine minutes. Those nine minutes however were my highlight of the show. Hands down, Metal Gear Rising will be a killer title. Make sure to pick it up when it releases early next year.

Raiden has never looks more badass. I’ve miss him.

For more on Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance head over to the website. For more eurogamer 2012 coverage, stay with Yatta all week.


Words: Nikholai Koolonavich
All images and videos belong to their rightful owners and used under fair use.

Leave a Reply

