Eurogamer 2012 – Halo 4


Halo has been microsoft’s flagship title for the Xbox from the very start of the consoles life. As the years have gone on and the story of Halo came and went, a new team have picked up the title and are starting a new story. Please welcome, Halo 4.

It should be said now that at the eurogamer expo only the multiplayer of Halo 4 was on offer and we only had time for one game due to the large line. Now I’m not that much of a Halo player but from the time I’ve played it I would like to think I have some idea of what I’m doing. That was until I sat down and played a match of Halo 4. Off the bat let me just say that in terms of graphics, Halo 4 is stunning. The hardware of the xbox is being pushed to it’s limits in every way with this title and it pays off. As always a stunning use of visuals and sound are found in this Halo title. But I have to ask is this would be the best the Xbox 360 could pull off.

Given that multiplayer is the main reason a lot of people will pick up the new game it makes sense that they make a lot of changes to the way the online is played. With a range of new weapons and items at hand plus many more features. Deathmatch was the game mode at hand this time around and with the headset’s on, we all got going. I’ll say now, I lost. horriabley.

Moving away from the fact I got my butt kicked by a load of kids, I had a great time. Halo has always been a solid gaming experience offering something for everyone. With Halo 4 the core, fun gameplay is still there but now there are some great new features. The weapons both new and old feel great and have some serious firepower. Unlike in other games, when you fire a gun in Halo 4 you will know about it. Some of the newer weapons are kick ass and really mix up the normal weapon mix. The items however left me and many others somewhat lost on how they work. I mean, you can now get a wearable, holder riot shield. Not sure about that….


A new feature I found that was nice nice was that when you spawn, for a few seconds you get a marker on your screen pointing you towards weapons and items laying around on the battlefield, allowing you to get a better footing in battle quicker as you race for that hammer. Additionally, it also creates more points on the map for combat to take place. So look forward to more one on one fights.

Halo 4 has a range of new features, so many in fact that I can’t list them all here. I want to keep some of the new features a surprise even for myself but know this. Halo 4 is going to be one of the best games you place this holiday season. Welcome back, Chief.

For more on Halo 4 head over to the website. For more eurogamer 2012 coverage, stay with Yatta all week.


Words: Nikholai Koolonavich
All images and videos belong to their rightful owners and used under fair use.

Leave a Reply

